Team NTT secure Success in Most Categories at men’s virtual Tour de France


Will Clarke was the surprise winner of this Champs-Élysées stage of this virtual Tour de France, which Team NTT dominated, winning all five groups.

A great final dash in Paris was started by (B&B Hotels — Crucial Concept P/B K&M), who’d chased down two of his fellow countrymen from FDJ, until NTT’s Edvald Boasson Hagen took over.

With no power-up to utilize, the Norwegian was soon caught by team-mate Ryan Gibbons, but it was Clarke who pushed through to cross the line .

Ineos’ Filippo Ganna finished second, although the yellow jersey of Gibbons arrived .

The way that it occurred

Virtual Tour de France stage six path profile (ASO)

Emils Liepins (Trek-Segafredo) and Jimmy Janssens (Alpecin-Fenix) took the first intermediate sprints, together with NTT just monitoring proceeding in the front of the group having sewn both the points and overall classification, Ryan Gibbons sporting the yellow jersey to the South African group.

The group was all together heading into the last 15kilometers, having averaged almost 50km/h within the very first half of racing.

Gijs Van Hoecke (CCC) went for the upcoming intermediate sprint, choosing a no jersey setup in your home on his head.

Bruno Armirail (FDJ) temporarily hit the penultimate lap, Ineos’ Filippo Ganna bringing him back before the bell to the last jaunt round the Champs-Élysées.

Edvald Boasson Hagen (NTT) was churning out 450w to the last lap as front group round the Arc de Triomphe for the last moment.

Janssens won the last intermediate sprint as passengers took rapid swigs in their bottles in preparation for its end.

FDJ’s Benjamin Thomas went just ahead of the flamme rouge, his team-mate Armirail supporting and originally appearing like he was likely to obstruct the crowd before riding onto Thomas’ wheel, the set starting to gap that the peloton.

Bryan Coquard (B&B Hotels — Crucial Concept P/B K&M) subsequently came beyond the FDJ set as the crowd sprint ensued, Edvald Boasson Hagen on his wheel and then beginning to go apparent.

However, the Norwegian did not possess a power-up because his team-mate Ryan Gibbons came soaring beyond. Team NTT would not have it all their way, however, since Trek-Segafredo’s Will Clarke came ago to take the success for the American group.


Virtual Tour de France, stage six: Champs-Élysées (42.8km)

1. ) Can Clarke (Aus) Trek-Segafredo, in 51-44
2. ) Filippo Ganna (Ineos), all exactly the same time
3. Ryan Gibbons (RSA)
4. ) R Tiller (Nor) NTT
5. ) Matteo Dal-Cin (May ) Rally
6. M Walscheid (Ger) NTT
7. ) Simon Clarke (Aus) EF Guru Cycling
8. N Zukowsky (May ) Rally
9. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) NTT, all exactly the same time
10. Gijs Van Hoecke (Bel) CCC, in one moment

Final general classification

1. ) NTT (RSA) — 500 factors
2. ) Rally (USA) — 267 pts
3. Trek-Segafredo (USA) — 232 pts
4. EF Pro Cycling (USA) — 211 pts
5. ) Ineos (GBr) Ineos — 175 pts
6. Israel Start-Up Nation (Isr) — 161 pts
7. ) Mitchelton-Scott (Aus) — 139 pts
8. Alpecin-Fenix (Bel) — 138 pts
9. Groupama-FDJ (Fra) — 112 pts
10. Ag2r La Mondiale (Fra) — 105 pts

Closing green jersey classification

1. ) NTT (RSA) — 293 pts
2. Alpecin — Fenix (Bel) — 143 pts
3. Mitchelton-Scott (Aus) — 140 pts

Closing polka dot jersey classification

1. ) NTT (RSA) — 62 pts
2. EF Pro Cycling (USA) — 30 pts
3. Israel Start-Up Nation (Isr) — 28 pts

Closing white jersey classification

1. ) NTT (RSA) — 51 pts
2. Ineos (GBr) — 47 pts
3. Groupama-FDJ (Fra) — 38 pts

Closing team classification

1. ) NTT (RSA) — 923 pts
2. Rally (USA) — 398 pts
3. Trek-Segafredo (USA) — 360 pts


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here