Lizzie Deignan, Alex Dowsett and Tom Pidcock headline British squad for European Union


The British squad for its street European Championships was verified, together with Lizzie Deignan, Alex Dowsett and Tom Pidcock leading the complaint. 

occurring in Plouay, France in August 24-28, the UEC Road European Championships is going to be the primary competitor for the Great Britain Cycling Team following the coronavirus lay-off. 

With enormous talent lining up at both the women’s and men’s races, British cyclists seem to be in with a strong prospect of taking home awards. 

From the women’s road race, former world champion Deignan will soon be leading the group with assistance from Alice and Hannah Barnes, together with Lizzy Banks finishing the four-rider squad. 

For the men’s road race, younger cyclists will probably be carrying the British expects together with Tom Pidcock, Gabz Cullaigh and Ethan Hayter lining up. 

The remaining men’s group on the street will probably be Alex Dowsett, Matt Holmes, Scott Thwaites, Matt Walls and Fred Wright. 

At the European time tests, Lizzy Banks and Hayley Simmonds will race against the clock at the women’s race while Alex Dowsett is going to be the only British rider at the elite men’s group. 

Pidcock will also be racin the below -23 period trial together with Ethan Vernon. 

British Cycling performance manager Stephen Park stated:”“Together with the street race calendar nevertheless understandably cloudy, the European Road Championships are now an integral characteristic for the Great Britain Cycling Team’s street squad and consequently we’re sending a powerful team with actual trophy opportunities in every single class and subject.”

The 2020 World Corps, originally scheduled for Switzerland in late September, have now been cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, since the UCI have stated they’ll attempt to find an alternate place for this year’s Worlds. 

Regardless of the doubt, the British group are eager to utilize the Euros as a prep race for the World Championships.

>> Team Ineos announce team for Tour de France 2020, without a Chris Froome or Geraint Thomas

Park stated:”As a staff, we’re staying optimistic about the street worlds happening in some kind, along with also the European Championships will function as great preparations for this as well as supplying a fantastic racing chance in its own right. I understand the team we’re taking are eager to perform the jersey joyful, and I understand the street team will be prepared for whatever happens in the coming months” 

Great Britain Cycling Team for the European Union 2020

Elite Women’s Road Race

Lizzy Banks

Alice Barnes

Hannah Barnes

Lizzie Deignan

Elite Women’s Time Trial

Lizzy Banks

Hayley Simmonds

 Elite Men’s Road Race

Gabz Cullaigh

Alex Dowsett

Ethan Hayter

Matt Holmes

Tom Pidcock

Scott Thwaites

Matt Walls

Fred Wright

Elite Men’s Time Trial

Alex Dowsett

Beneath 23 Women’s Road Race

Anna Docherty

Jess Roberts

Anna Shackley

Amelia Sharpe

Beneath 23 Women’s Time Trial

Anna Docherty

Jess Roberts

Beneath 23 Men’s Road Race

Rhys Britton

Alfie George

Max Rushby

Ethan Vernon

Sam Watson

Xeno Young

Beneath 23 Men’s Time Trial

Tom Pidcock

Ethan Vernon


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here