Fernando Gaviria Forces to victory in first race Because coronavirus Analysis on Phase two of Vuelta a Burgos 2020


One of the largest names in overtraining came against each other for the first time because lockdown on phase two of the Vuelta a Burgos 2020, since Fernando Gaviria pinpointed the last twist and took a dominating victory.

This is the very first opportunity to observe some of the largest running names going flat out into the line, together with the likes of Sam Bennett (Deceuninck — Quick-Step), Arnaud Démare (Groupama-FDJ), Gaviria (UAE Team Emirates), Giacomo Nizzolo (NTT Pro Cycling) and much more importantly from the mix.

Gaviria took the win ahead of Frenchman Démare, as Felix Großschartner (Bora-Hansgrohe) held on his overall lead.

The way that it occurred

Day 2 of the Vuelta a Burgos watched the peloton ride the nearly pan apartment 168km route between Castrojeriz and Villadiego.

The first break consists of five passengers — Ángel Fuentes (Burgos-BH), Joel Nicolau (Caja Rural), Riccardo Verza (Kometa-Xstra Cycling Team), Kiko Galván (Equipo Kern Pharma) and best placed rider, Alessandro Fedeli (Nippo-Delko-Provence), that began the day in only eight minutes back on the chief.

Racing was mostly controlled by Bora-Hansgrohe, but NTT Pro Cycling, Groupama-FDJ and Deceuninck — Quick-Step place the occasional rider into tap out the speed.

With 17kilometers to go, the rest was going to be captured, therefore Nicolau went to a solo assault, but the peloton were currently in color order prepared for a sprint. Only 2km afterwards along with the Caja Rural rider was consumed and all of the attention was placed on the fast guys.

The closing 15kilometers were on tight, twisty and undulating streets, however, the peloton retained the speed from being overly feverish.

Since the peloton then begun to descend quickly towards Villadiego they combined a broader street with 5km to go, with sprint trains moving up left right and center.

Matteo Trentin’s CCC Team took charge with 3km to go, stringing from the peloton. This enabled other sprint groups to make their way to front. However, since they struck on the flamme rouge, Deceuninck — Quick-Step took on front with Sam Bennett place to sprint.

>> Another 3 riders shipped home from Vuelta a Burgos after contact with Somebody Who Has coronavirus

However, the last corner has been shot by Colombian Gaviria, who flew into a comfortable victory in phase two of this Vuelta a Burgos before Démare and Bennett, who might have been hauled up with a late crash by a Equipo Kern Pharma rider.

Felix Großschartner (Bora-Hansgrohe) finished safely in the group and also holds onto his eight minute lead.

Gaviria revealed no indications that the coronavirus had effected him anyway, because recovering from the virus back in the spring. He had been quarantined in UAE where he had been rushing the UAE Tour, before going home to Colombia to break and finally train.

>> How to see Vuelta a Burgos 2020: Live flow the Spanish stage race including Mark Cavendish and Remco Evenepoel 

There wasn’t any indication of Mark Cavendish (Bahrain-McLaren) in what’s a really important race for its’Manx Missile’ because he seems to obtain a place on the Tour de France group bus.


Vuelta a Burgos 2020, phase two: Castrojeriz — Villadiego (168kilometers )

1. ) Fernando Gaviria (Col) UAE Team Emirates, in 3-55-38
2. Arnaud Démare (Fra) Groupama-FDJ
3. Sam Bennett (Irl) Deceuninck — Quick-Step
4. ) Matteo Trentin (Ita) CCC Team
5. ) Jon Aberasturi (Esp) Caja Rural
6. Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
7. ) Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT Guru Cycling
8. ) Edward Theuns (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
9. Pascal Eenkhoorn (Ned) Team Jumbo Visma
10. Mikel Aristi (Esp) Fundacion Ciclista Euskadi, all exactly the same time.

General classification

1. ) Felix Großschartner (Aut) Bora Hansgrohe, in seven -35-59
2. Jon Aberasturi (Esp) Caja Rural, in 8s
3. Matteo Trentin (Ita) CCC Team
4. ) Jasper Stuyven (Bel) Trek-Segafredo
5. ) Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita) NTT Guru Cycling
6. Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Movistar
7. ) Mikel Landa (Esp) Bahrain-McLaren
8. ) George Bennett (Nzl) Team Jumbo Visma
9. Esteban Chaves (Col) Mitchelton-Scott
10. Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Team Ineos, all exactly the same time


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here