West Bengal extends complete lockdown in containment zones until July 19 | Kolkata News


Containment zone, Baranagar, North 24 Parganas district.

KOLKATA: The West Bengal authorities on Tuesday extended till July 19 that the entire lockdown from containment zones to stem the spike in Covid-19 cases.
The lockdown which started on July 9 was originally enforced for seven days.
In accordance with a notification issued by the home department, the strict containment in these regions are extended from July 15 to July 19.
These zones are situated in and around Kolkata, apart from Jalpaiguri, Malda, Cooch Behar, Raiganj and Siliguri, it stated.
“Each of the standards which have been in force since 5pm on July 9 will last. Residents of these containment zones are banned from attending private and government offices,” a senior official said.
Local governments will attempt to arrange for home delivery of essentials,” he added.
Meanwhile, the amount of all containment zones in the country climbed to 606, together with North 24 Parganas district with the highest at 95.
Howrah has 85 containment zones, Uttar Dinajpur has 61, Nadia 42, South 24 Parganas 55 and Kolkata 28, the authorities said on its’Egiye Bangla’ site.
West Bengal has up to now reported 32,838 Covid-19 instances, although 980 individuals have died.
A total of 19,931 individuals have recovered from the disorder in the country.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here