Tamil Nadu: Director of south-west cultural center M Balasubramoniam goes away at 63 | Chennai News


M Balasubramoniam

THANJAVUR: The manager of south zone cultural center , Thanjavur, M Balasubramoniam passed away on Sunday. He had been 63-years-old.
Balasubramoniam has been admitted to Government Medical College Hospital at Thanjavur on September 2 after developing breathing problems.
His body was cremated at Thanjavur town company crematorium.
M Balasubramoniam was appointed as the manager of south zone ethnic center, Thanjavur, from the Ministry of Culture, Government of India, on September 13, 2018.
He had been the head of cultural activities in Kerala, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Telengana, and the Union Territories of Andaman and Nicobar, respectively Lakshadeep, also Puducherry.
Governor of Tamil Nadu and also Chairman of this center Banwarilal Purohit expressed shock and grief over the artist’s abrupt death.
In his condolence message, the Governor reported that Balasubramoniam spent his lifetime in boosting, propagating and maintaining our cultural riches by organising programmes, training and workshops. “He played a significant part in national integration through civilization and worked untiringly to create consciousness about our rich cultural heritage among all parts of the society,” the Governor added.
He had been a carnatic and classical musician and also a percussionist playing with mridangam. He’s received many awards, including the coveted Raghuvara Puraskar.
After finishing his Gaanapraveena at Swathi Thirunal College of Music, Thiruvananthapuram, he learned Mridangam from Vidwan Mavelikkara Velukkutty Nair.
He was the former leader of Chembai Government Music College and RLV College of Music and Fine Arts, Tripunithura, Kerala.
He was also a part of the Central Advisory Board on Culture, dean, school of Arts, University of Calicut, former officer of SRV Government College of Music and Performing Arts, Thrissur.
He accompanied distinguished musicians such as Vidwan Semmangudi Srinivasa Iyer, Vidwan KV Narayanaswamy, Vidwan DK Jayaraman, Flute Vidwan Dr N Ramani, Vidwan U Srinivas and dozens of other stalwarts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here